Meet me in St. Louis

“You are crazy to go to St. Louis in January.” – said everyone to me.

Well, Annabelle & didn’t care if we got snowed in; we just wanted to meet sweet baby Carina!

Annabelle & her new best friend Carina
Annabelle & her new best friend Carina

Carina is the daughter of two of my favorite people ever, Cara & Marcelo. So, Annabelle & I planned a trip St. Louis.

Our first full day in STL we lucked out with gorgeous weather & we took full advantage. All of the girls headed to the St. Louis Zoo where we met zebras, wild Somali asses, sea lions & my favorite- hippos!

Some fine ladies at the zoo
Some fine ladies at the zoo

It was a beautiful day at Forest Park & we had a lovely lunch outside of a museum & soaked in a warm January day by St. Louis standards.

Who is the guy on the horse? Uh, it says,
Who is the guy on the horse? Uh, it says, “Saint Louis.”
Friends
Friends & fountains

The next day is started to get colder, so we bundled up & headed to the park in nearby Brentwood. Although I looked like a fool in white gloves & hat, we had a fun time.

Seesaw
Seesaw
Gorgeous day at the park
Gorgeous day at the park
Carina at the park
Carina at the park

Cara & Marcelo were wonderful hosts & they have an amazing condo. I wasn’t sure I could get Annabelle to return home with me. She was in love with the condo, Cara & Marcelo, but especially baby Carina. We even got Carina to laugh, and I am still telling everybody about the sweet, gorgeous baby we visited.

We came all the way to St. Louis to meet you baby girl!
We came all the way to St. Louis to meet you baby girl!

I miss my friends! It was so awesome to just be around Cara & Marcelo as we spent most of our time longing in comfy sweats, watching or doing funny yoga videos, snacking on goodies from Trader Joe’s & chatting away about the wonders of parenthood.

How you pose post-baby
How you pose post-baby

Our last day we met up with Emily & Paul, and they showed us all around town. I’ve known Emily for over thirteen years, and I was very excited to meet her husband Paul. Oh, don’t let me forget to tell you it was fuh-reezing cold. Emily sent me a detailed & thoughtful potential itinerary and she planned a perfect St. Louis tour. Our first stop was the Magic House. Annabelle was able to kick an NFL field goal, play with magnets, pretend she was a veterinarian, catch a plastic fish & go down a few slides. Needless to say, this was her favorite part of the day.

Sliding at the Magic House
Sliding at the Magic House

Next up was St. Louis style pizza. Emily & Paul took us to Imo’s where we sampled toasted ravioli-it was delicious. We ordered a 14 inch pizza for Annabelle & myself, and we pretty much finished it. Of course, Annabelle filled up on the sausage & bacon and left the rest for me. They use Provel cheese, and I have to say I’m a fan. It was creamy & smooth while the crust was crisp; a perfect combination.

Imo's bacon & sausage pizza
Imo’s bacon & sausage pizza

After an exciting trip down a genuine St. Louis cobblestone street, we arrived at the St. Louis Arch. By this time it was a frigid 26 degrees with a nice wind. I’ve always heard people say, “The wind will just cut right through you.” I’m confident I now know what this means. I could have sworn a razor blade was cutting my front lip, but Emily & Paul assured me it was fine.

IMG_5432
The Gateway to the West

We picked a great day to go to the arch because there was no wait to hit the top. After I assured the cashier I was not claustrophobic, we climbed into a tiny capsule and zig-zagged up to the top. There were tiny slits of windows to look out to Missouri & Illinois. I loved it!

The girls atop the arch
The girls atop the arch

Annabelle was a little worried when we stepped out of the capsule, but Paul kept her from falling. Paul, she is still so thankful.

Annabelle clinging to the walls
Annabelle clinging to the walls

There was a great museum dedicated mainly to the “discovery” of the West, but Annabelle was turned off by the talking & moving statues. Perhaps the best part of the museum was when Annabelle asked if a gray-bearded, fur coat clad man was part of the exhibit. To her relief, he was merely a patron.

Next up was Crown Candy. One might think on a 26 degree day at 3pm an ice cream shop might be a desolate retreat. Uh, no. We used up all of our luck at the arch, so we waited in line at least an hour. As Paul pointed out they are celebrating their 100 year anniversary this year. You may have seen them on Man vs. Food with their 5 Malt Challenge. Rest assured, I will be partaking in that challenge on my next visit. No, seriously I will do it. Annabelle couldn’t stand the wait, so she ordered a strawberry cone in a cup while we were still in line.

Our STL tour guides
Our STL tour guides
Hot Fudge Malt & chips
Hot Fudge Malt & chips

After three Hot Fudge Malts & a terrifying run-in with a homeless Frosty the Snowman, it was time to head to the airport. Annabelle & I had a blast in St. Louis. We squeezed in so much in our short visit & we can’t wait to go back. I asked Annabelle tonight, “What was your favorite part of St. Louis?” Her answer: meeting baby Carina! Until next time, we will miss our STL friends.

Sarah & Cara by photographer Annabelle
Sarah & Cara by photographer Annabelle
2 thoughts on “Meet me in St. Louis

    1. Sarah, The pictures, subjects and story content are great as usual. Looks as if your friends saw to it that you and Annabelle had a good time; even the cold weather didn’t hold you back.Sounds like and looks like all had a great time. Love you, Grandma & Granddaddy

Leave a Reply

