One month in Oregon

We’ve been here a month. We made the move, are basically settled and Derek found an accounting job! This is huge news. Let me update you on our adventures in Portland, Oregon.

Total Hipster
Total Hipster

Okay, okay…so, we don’t technically live in Portland. We live in Hillsboro, which I’ve heard is like living in Canada to a true Portlandian. Example, I got my haircut in SE Portland. I tell the hairdresser where I live, ask if she’s familiar with the area and she tells me; “Yeah, it’s all the same up there.” I get it. Even though it took me 15 minutes to drive to her salon, I don’t live in Portland. It’s just like if you live in Cedar Park, (God, help you) don’t you dare tell me you live in Austin. Same goes for Kyle, Bastrop, Round Rock & Lakeway. You can’t claim Austin until it’s on your return address & the same goes for Portland. So, yes…we technically live in suburban Portland, but we’re cool, I promise.

Image
Rockaway Beach

1. I have an accent. Most of you may know this, but damn these people here pick up on my “Texas drawl” rather quickly. By the way, that’s their terminology, not mine.

2. Say spendy instead of expensive. Examples, on the news, “A guy wrecks his spendy new Corvette.” Also, “How was that hamburger place, was it spendy?”

Eddie chowing down on a Pine State Biscuit
Eddie chowing down on a Pine State Biscuit

3. Public transportation frightens me. I was super pumped about using the buses, max, trams to get around, but honestly I’m a little afraid I’ll get trapped somewhere and not be able to find my way home. Ridiculous, yes, accurate representation of someone who used to drive over 30,000 miles a year, yes as well. As a side note, Derek will be riding a bus and the MAX to his job five days a week, so he can work out the kinks and hopefully get me over my irrational fear.

Tillamook Factory
Tillamook Factory

4. Breakfast burritos do not equal breakfast tacos. Instead of Texas traditional cubed potatoes, they use hashbrowns, which tends to be soft. Soft on soft on soft with a side of bacon still equals soft.

5. Bring a jacket to the beach. What, what? Yep, it’s about 10 degrees cooler at the beach and sit near a sand dune so you’re not blown away with the wind. Can you imagine wearing a jacket at Texas beach in May? Me either.

Windblown at Seaside Beach
Windblown at Seaside Beach

6. PST is not conducive to watching television. I have to stay up until 11 pm to see Andy Cohen on Watch What Happens Live, so instead, I watch it the next evening…it’s a little depressing to be a dy behind in TV.

7. The library here is amazing. So, that’s where my state income tax goes…among other things. There’s a coffee and doughnut shop inside the library, a duck pond outside and I think you can check out like 100+ items. It’s amazing and so far we’ve been twice every week.

Seaside Beach
Seaside Beach

8. Don’t even bother with the Voodoo Doughnuts on 3rd, just go to NE Davis. There is ample parking, no line and the same great doughnuts. Done.

Forest Park
Forest Park

So, let me close for now. This next month will bring huge changes for us as Baby D starts his accounting career and both kids are in full-time child care/school. We plan to enjoy the festivities at the Rose Parade/Festival in June, try out a pizza place or two and figure out transit system. Hope you all have a great start to the summer.

Image

3 thoughts on “One month in Oregon

  1. Sounds exciting!!!! Congrats to Derek on the job!!! Where’s my bacon maple voodoo?? Move me up sand I’ll be your FREE childcare!!! I wanna go to the beach…. jacket or not!!! Miss you all and love you…. enjoy the adventure!!!!

  2. Hi Sarah, Derek, Annabelle and Ed,
    So pleased to see your Portland Blog with pictures and everyone looking happy and lively. The beach looks nice with Annabelle and Ed playing in sand. You’ve all done great and made your month. Good luck with jobs, Sarah and Derek and school/day care for Annabelle and Ed. Know you will have fun. We are happy for you, Sarah thanks for taking time to send all the news. Love, G-Grandma and G-Granddaddy Charlie

Leave a Reply

